Prosciutto and Provolone-Stuffed Long Hot Peppers

Outside in my garden, we have a large bush flourishing with long hot peppers. I have fried quite a few, but needed to something different.  Thinking back to one of my favorite restaurants, I remembered an appetizer I had.  Long hots stuffed with provolone cheese and prosciutto ham.  So, I decided to try making my own.  Let me tell you. They are delicious.

First things first.  These are HOT.  Some aren’t, but mine are.  I suggest you do a taste test before preparing.  If they are too hot, remove all of the seeds and the ribs from the pepper by cutting off the top and making a slice all the way down one side.  Make sure it’s a side so that the pepper will lie flat on the board.

Next, rub each pepper with some olive oil to aid in the roasting.

I bought a quarter pound of Daniele Prosciutto from the market today.  This is enough to stuff about 10 peppers.  Peel off a piece and tear it to fit in the pepper’s cavity.  Fill each pepper this way.

Next, comes the provolone cheese.  I purchased a block of sharp imported Provolone today and shred it fresh.  I shred about 3/4 cup or so.  Take this and stuff into the peppers.

Preheat the oven to 350°.  Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper and lay the peppers on it.  Cook in oven, upper rack, for about 20 minutes or until peppers start to wrinkle.  The cheese will be melted before this.  Remove and let cool for a few minutes before serving.

Grab a hunk of Italian bread and enjoy!


~ by Maryann Romantini on July 21, 2010.

6 Responses to “Prosciutto and Provolone-Stuffed Long Hot Peppers”

  1. Now that is one amazing dish right there!! I have seen stuffed peppers of all sorts, but I have to say this is one that I actually want to try and make… so thank you for posting this one!! I will let you know if mines turns out as good as yours… cross your fingers, toes and tongue for me :)

    • I will, Kelley! They are really good. Just keep an eye on them when they cook so the cheese doesn’t burn. Let us know how they come out.

  2. Dang, girl! Wish I lived closer to you so I could be a taste-tester! Good luck with this new adventure.

  3. These were excellent. I removed the seeds and membrames, but still a little hot. So good though.

    • That’s the thing with these peppers. They can be super hot to almost mild. I’m glad you enjoyed them!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

